Montreux, capital city of the Riviera “Vaudoise”

The city of Montreux is located on the Lac Leman, submerged in vineyards, surrounded by the overwhelming sight of the snowy Alps. The city is renowned for hosting the Montreux Jazz Festival which takes place all over the city in July of every year.

Montreux is qualified as the capital of the Riviera “Vaudoise” as its climate is very soft all year round. The region is regarded as unique as it the home of a great variety of trees which ordinarily belong in the Mediterranean region, such as the palm tree. Charlie Chaplin, Freddie Mercury and many other celebrities live or have lived along the Riviera.

A long flowery path alongside the lake takes you from Vevey, through Montreux all the way until the Castle of Chillon. Montreux is well appreciated for its many cultural rendezvous such as the Montreux Jazz Festival as well a great deal of lake or mountain related activities. One can find in Montreux a large amount of homes which were built during the “Belle Epoque”. Furthermore, the city owns a very modern Congress and Exhibition center, the CCE.

Spring – Summer – Autumn

Whether you’re in for a swim, for water sports, or for a peaceful cruise, the lake is sure to please you. Alongside the latter are beautiful flowery paths which lead from hotel to restaurant, without forgetting many pianos and jazz bars, discotheques as well as a casino.

A mountain train links Montreux to Rochers-de-Naye, 2042 metres above sea level, where one can relish in a splendid view of the lake and the French and Swiss alps. Les Rochers-de-Naye is the meeting point for hikers, Para gliders and delta planers alike. The train line Montreux-Oberland-Bernois (MOB) takes passengers through various vineyards overlooking the city where one can find many pedestrian and cycling paths, in the mountain region of the Pays-d’Enhaut and even further in the Oberland from the canton of Bern or until Gstaad.

Winter

Winter sports and winter hikers will relish in Les Rochers-de Nayes and other ski resorts such as Les Avants and Les Pléiades. One can find in Les Avants a 2.3km long sledding path, which is guaranteed fun! In December, Montreux is the home of Switzerland’s most renowned Christmas Market which takes over the whole city for one entire month.

Montreux, Hauptstadt der Waadtländer Riviera

Die Stadt Montreux liegt in einer geschützten Bucht des Genfer Sees, umringt von Weinbergen und einem atemberaubenden Alpenpanorama. Sie ist vor allem für das Montreux Jazz Festival bekannt, das jedes Jahr im Juli auf verschiedenen Bühnen und in den Parks der Stadt stattfindet.

Dank seinem milden Klima verdient Montreux den Namen der Hauptstadt der Waadtländer Riviera. Die Region ist gekennzeichnet durch Ihre Vegetation an Sonnenkiefern, Zypressen und Palmen, die man normalerweise im Mediterranen Becken findet. Charlie Chaplin, Freddie Mercury und zahlreiche andere weltweit renommierte Persönlichkeiten haben gelebt oder leben noch an der Waadtländer Riviera.

Eine lange beblümte Uferpromenade führt von Vevey über Montreux bis hin zum Château de Chillon. Das Zusammentreffen von Kultur wie das Montreux Jazz Festival sowie zahllose Möglichkeiten ins bergige Hinterland vorzudringen oder ans Seeufer machen aus dieser Stadt ein angesehenes Ausflugs- und Ferienziel. Viele Gebäude aus der goldenen Era oder der Belle Epoque säumen das Seeufer. Die Stadt verfügt ausserdem über ein modernes Kongress- und Messezentrum.

Frühling - Sommer - Herbst

Der See eignet sich hervorragend zum Baden, für Wassersport und für Bootsausflüge. Entlang der Seepromenade folgen Hotels und Restaurants, Piano Bars und Jazz Bars, Discos und sogar ein Kasino aufeinander.

Eine Zahnradbahn verbindet Montreux mit den Rochers-de-Naye auf 2042 Metern Höhe wo die Besucher eine herrliche Sicht auf den Genfersee, die Savoyer, Waadtländer, Walliser und Berner Alpen geniessen können. Die Rochers-de-Naye stellen einen Ausgangspunkt für Wanderer, aber auch Gleitschirm- und Deltaschirmflieger dar. Die Eisenbahnlinie Montreux-Berner Oberland (MOB) führt die Passagiere unter anderem durch die über der Stadt ragenden Weinberge wo sich Spazier- und Velowege erstrecken, in die Waadtländer Bergregion des Hochlandes und noch weiter ins Berner Oberland zum Beispiel bis Gstaad.

Winter

Die Roches-de-Naye und benutzerfreundlichen Skiorte der Avants und der Pléiades heissen Wintersportler und Wanderer gerne willkommen. Die Avants verfügen auch über eine Schlittelpiste von 2.3km Länge für das grösste Glück der Amateure. Montreux organisiert ebenfalls im Dezember einen der schönsten Weihnachtsmärkte der Schweiz, in der Grand-Rue, der Markthalle und am Seeufer.