Montreux, capital city of the Riviera “Vaudoise”

The city of Montreux is located on the Lac Leman, submerged in vineyards, surrounded by the overwhelming sight of the snowy Alps. The city is renowned for hosting the Montreux Jazz Festival which takes place all over the city in July of every year.

Montreux is qualified as the capital of the Riviera “Vaudoise” as its climate is very soft all year round. The region is regarded as unique as it the home of a great variety of trees which ordinarily belong in the Mediterranean region, such as the palm tree. Charlie Chaplin, Freddie Mercury and many other celebrities live or have lived along the Riviera.

A long flowery path alongside the lake takes you from Vevey, through Montreux all the way until the Castle of Chillon. Montreux is well appreciated for its many cultural rendezvous such as the Montreux Jazz Festival as well a great deal of lake or mountain related activities. One can find in Montreux a large amount of homes which were built during the “Belle Epoque”. Furthermore, the city owns a very modern Congress and Exhibition center, the CCE.

Spring – Summer – Autumn

Whether you’re in for a swim, for water sports, or for a peaceful cruise, the lake is sure to please you. Alongside the latter are beautiful flowery paths which lead from hotel to restaurant, without forgetting many pianos and jazz bars, discotheques as well as a casino.

A mountain train links Montreux to Rochers-de-Naye, 2042 metres above sea level, where one can relish in a splendid view of the lake and the French and Swiss alps. Les Rochers-de-Naye is the meeting point for hikers, Para gliders and delta planers alike. The train line Montreux-Oberland-Bernois (MOB) takes passengers through various vineyards overlooking the city where one can find many pedestrian and cycling paths, in the mountain region of the Pays-d’Enhaut and even further in the Oberland from the canton of Bern or until Gstaad.

Winter

Winter sports and winter hikers will relish in Les Rochers-de Nayes and other ski resorts such as Les Avants and Les Pléiades. One can find in Les Avants a 2.3km long sledding path, which is guaranteed fun! In December, Montreux is the home of Switzerland’s most renowned Christmas Market which takes over the whole city for one entire month.

Montreux, capitale de la Riviera vaudoise

La ville de Montreux est située dans une baie protégée sur le lac Léman, entourée de vignobles, et dans l’époustouflant décor des Alpes enneigées. Elle est notamment réputée pour le Montreux Jazz Festival qui a lieu chaque année en juillet sur différentes scènes et dans les parcs de la ville.

Grâce à son climat extraordinairement doux, Montreux mérite son appellation de capitale de la Riviera vaudoise. La région se caractérise par une végétation de pins parasols, de cyprès et de palmiers que l’on trouve plus généralement autour du bassin méditerranéen. Charlie Chaplin, Freddie Mercury et de nombreuses autres personnalités de renommée mondiale ont vécu ou vivent encore sur la Riviera vaudoise.

Une longue promenade fleurie au bord du lac mène de Vevey par Montreux jusqu’au château de Chillon. Les rendez-vous culturels tels que le Festival de jazz de Montreux, de même que d’innombrables possibilités d’incursions dans l’arrière-pays montagneux ou sur le lac font de cette ville une destination d’excursions et de vacances très appréciée. Beaucoup de bâtisses issues de l’âge d’or de la Belle Époque bordent la rive du lac. La ville dispose en outre d’un Centre de Congrès et d’Expositions (CCE) moderne.

Printemps – Été - Automne

Le lac se prête idéalement à la baignade, aux sports nautiques et aux excursions en bateau. Tout au long de la promenade du lac se succèdent des hôtels et des restaurants, des pianos-bars et jazz-bars, des discothèques ainsi qu’un casino.

Un train à crémaillère relie Montreux aux Rochers-de-Naye à 2042 m d’altitude, où le visiteur peut savourer une vue splendide sur le lac Léman et les Alpes savoyardes, vaudoises, valaisannes et bernoises. Les Rochers-de-Naye constituent un point de départ pour les randonneurs, mais aussi pour les parapentistes et deltaplaneurs. La ligne ferroviaire Montreux-Oberland-Bernois (MOB) mène les usagers entre autres dans les vignobles surplombant la ville où s’étendent des sentiers pédestres et cyclables, dans la région montagneuse vaudoise du Pays-d'Enhaut et plus loin dans l’Oberland bernois jusqu’à Gstaad par exemple.

Hiver

Les Rochers-de-Naye et les domaines skiables conviviaux des Avants et des Pléiades accueillent volontiers les sportifs et randonneurs d’hiver. Les Avants disposent ainsi d’une piste de luge de 2,3 km pour le plus grand bonheur des amateurs. Montreux organise aussi, en décembre, l’un des plus beaux marchés de Noël de Suisse, installé dans la Grand-Rue, la halle au marché et sur les rives du lac.